Beef Oven-Roast with Caramelized Onions and Balsamic Reduction

IMG_5363

My boyfriend made a dinner request, so tonight’s how-to is just a precursor to the “easiest throw-it-together leftover beef oven roast crock pot beef stroganoff ever” recipe I came up with a few weeks ago.  Honestly, it’ll probably take you longer to read that run-on sentence than to put tonight or tomorrow’s meal together.  And although this isn’t anything fancy, there are some nights that what we really need is comfort, right?  And this is pure comfort food at it’s finest!  Make sure to check back tomorrow to see what you can do with those leftovers!

 I started out with a bottom round roast (oven roast) which wasn’t the cut of beef I had originally wanted (it’s not known for being very tender) but it’s cheap and it was the only one with the weight I needed, a little under 3 lbs.  The leftovers will work perfectly for what I’m making tomorrow, and that was the meal I most cared about anyway, (is that telling you how good it is?!)
Okay, so, throwing some EVOO into the mix.  Go ahead and rub about a tablespoon or two over the entire roast, generously season with freshly ground sea salt and pepper, garlic, Everyday Seasoning (I get this from Trader Joe’s, tons of herbs and spices and it comes in a grinder, it’s amazing!), fresh thyme sprigs, and if you’re brave go ahead and red pepper flake that guy!  I love a little kick to my beef!
Nothing like fresh herbs in the kitchen…Well, hello, Mr. Thyme!
You’re going to want the fat-side up when it’s roasting, but for now the roast is going in the fridge until about the same time I start preheating the oven to 325 degrees (about 30-60 minutes to allow it to come to room temperature).
While the roast was cooking I went ahead and prepped the roasted veggies, in this case I went with broccoli, brussel sprouts, and crushed garlic cloves.  I tossed them in EVOO and freshly ground salt and pepper.  When I take the roast out to rest, I’ll push up the oven temp to 425 degrees and pop the veggies in the oven for 20 minutes (10 minutes for each side) or until they’ve got some nice caramel coloring.

The roast cooked for around an hour and 45 minutes and I let it rest for about 30 minutes before I carved into it.  In the meantime…
I put the onion on and caramelized it in some olive oil on the stove.  I then added a few turns of the salt and pepper grinder and about a half a cup of aged-balsamic vinegar.  I usually add some fresh thyme, but I completely forgot, (and if I have time I usually get a red onion and roast it for 45 minutes in olive oil in the oven, changes the ENTIRE taste!) I let it come to a boil and then reduced the heat to medium-low and let the balsamic and onions reduce for about 5-10 minutes.  And then topped the sliced roast with the reduction.
Okay, last but not least, what did I do with the veggies?!  When they were done roasting, I tossed them in some fresh lemon juice and zest (I zested the entire lemon, and only used half a lemon’s juice).  They were delicious!
 Voila!  Dinner!
(and more importantly, dinner with leftovers I can make into stroganoff tomorrow! Stay tuned!)

GoEatSomething!

Donielle

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:25 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

