Hearty Winter Vegetable Soup

I LOVE FALL. Maybe I hate that summer is over (mostly because my birthday is in August), but I LOVE fall for it’s beautiful leaves, all the colors, but most of all for the FOOD. I love any kind of one-pot, hearty and delicious meal, and any chance to bring out my dutch oven is a good day for me! I also find that I feel a lot better in the fall, must be because I get a lot of extra nutrients from all the soups I cook!

A few years ago I ran across the recipe in a Martha Stewart magazine, I adapted it for my palate, and I’ve made it numerous times since then. It’s probably one of my favorite soups of all time and it also works to help kick a fall cold!
The recipe calls for vegetables that aren’t typical of most vegetable soups, so it’s great for utilizing all those fall and winter vegetables from the farmers market! Anytime you can cook in season with your fruits and veggies, the better (and the cheaper)!
I also love this soup because it has SO MANY surprising flavors…you’ll see! Make a pot for yourself! It’ll become an instant favorite!
I’ll stop now, cause I could go on and on and on about it 🙂
What you’ll need:
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 leeks, white and pale-green parts only, halved lengthwise, cut into 1-inch pieces, and washed well
  • 3 celery stalks, cut on the bias into 1/2-inch-thick pieces
  • 3 medium carrots, cut into cubes
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 3 pinches of red-pepper flakes
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 6 cups homemade or store-bought low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 small (1 to 1 1/2 pounds) butternut squash, peeled and cut into cubes
  • 2 Yukon Gold potatoes (about 12 ounces), cut into cubes
  • 1 head escarole, cut into 1-inch-thick ribbons (or spinach if you can’t find escarole)
  • 1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 5 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons thinly sliced fresh mint
  • 3 tablespoons thinly sliced fresh dill
Directions:
  1. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven or stockpot over medium-high heat. Cook leeks, celery, carrots, garlic, red-pepper flakes, and 1 teaspoon salt, stirring occasionally, until leeks are translucent, about 5 minutes. Add stock and water, and bring to a boil.
  2. Add squash and potatoes. Return to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer, partially covered, until vegetables are tender, about 15 minutes. Stir in escarole and chickpeas, and return to a boil. Stir in lemon juice and herbs. Season with salt and pepper.
This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm and is filed under Soup, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

