Mushroom and Parmesan-Smothered Chicken

When I was about 15 years old my Dad taught me how to make a lemon/butter/capers/minced garlic salmon that rocked my world. It was the very first thing I learned to cook, and needless to say, it was the start of my love of cooking. When I went off to college a few years later, I quickly morphed this into a less-expensive “college-budget” chicken dish. It’s quick, it’s easy, and it’s insanely delicious. Those of you who went to college with me, probably know that I used this as my “show-off” dish…hopefully, you can use this dish as one of yours as well!

Tonight, I served it with the Snow Pea and Avocado Slaw recipe I posted a few weeks ago.

What you’ll need:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed of fat
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pint bella mushrooms, sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
Juice of one lemon
2 tablespoons capers
3 tablespoons salted butter
Shaved fresh parmesan cheese, for topping

1. Preheat a heavy frying pan over medium. Generously season both sides of the chicken breasts with salt and freshly ground pepper. Add your olive to the pan and gently lay the chicken breasts, breast-side down on the pan. Cook for 6-7 minutes until chicken is a dark golden brown, flip chicken and repeat, cooking another 6-7 minutes.

2. Once the chicken no longer has any visible pink, add your pint of mushrooms. Reduce heat to medium-low, and cover. Cook another 6 minutes.

3. Remove chicken from pan and plate.

4. Add the minced garlic to the pan, sautee for about a minute, or until fragrant. Add the butter, melt, then add the capers and lemon juice. Let reduce for about 5 minutes.

5. Meanwhile, add a generous amount of shaved parmesan to the top of the chicken breasts. When the sauce is done reducing, top the chicken and parmesan with the mushrooms first, then add some more parmesan over the mushrooms. Generously spoon the remaining sauce over the top of the mushrooms and parmesan.

This is a recipe I hold near and dear to my heart as my Daddy is no longer with us, and cooking is the one thing my Dad made sure to tell me how proud he was of me for. This is where it started for me…so please let me know when you make this dish, as it holds so much love in every bite.

Thanks for reading, enjoy!

AND GO EAT SOMETHING!

Donielle

 
This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:57 pm and is filed under Chicken, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

