Nashville Fruit Tea

I didn’t know until just recently that fruit tea is mainly a Nashville thing, and is rarely found anywhere else. I thought it might have been a southern thing as is the sweet tea, but nope…just a Nashville thing! Which makes me proud because as you should all know I love this city!

Instead of spending $2.00 a pop at Bread & Company (cause you have to get the large, silly!) I went on an internet search to find a recipe I could make at home and doing so I ran across a blog by Inspired Kara. Apparently she loves fruit tea as much as I do and went on a little search of her own! I made a substitution, (mainly because I don’t want diabetes haha) so I substituted 1.5 cups Splenda for  2 cups sugar. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It’s pretty good, I do think it needs fresh orange juice instead of canned as it’s lacking some of the tartness I like with fruit tea. Now that I’ve got my first batch under my belt, I’ll definitely be tinkering with the taste until I get it perfect (and of course updating you all when it is!) Do make a batch for yourself and let me know what you think!

Nashville Fruit Tea
What you’ll need:
 
6 family size tea bags (or enough for 2 gallons of tea), Luzianne brand makes the best tea
1 1/2 quarts boiling water
1 1/2 cups splenda (or sugar if you prefer the calories)
1 (48-ounce) can pineapple juice
1 (12-ounce) can frozen orange juice concentrate
1 (12-ounce) can frozen lemonade concentrate
Fresh mint leaves (I used about 4 sprigs)
1. In a large bowl, pour the boiling water over the tea bags. Add splenda. Let seep overnight or at the least, several hours.
2. Pour even amounts of tea into two gallon-sized pitchers.
3.  In a large bowl, mix pineapple juice, orange juice concentrate, and lemonade. Pour even amounts into the pitchers.
4. Add water to fill each pitcher, stir in mint and refrigerate until cold. Shake or stir well before serving!
Thanks for reading…and in this case drinking! Aren’t verbs cool? 😉
This fruit tea recipe was originally found here.

 

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm and is filed under Drinks, Fruit, Tea. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

