Simple and Easy Caprese

My intention was to make Pad Thai for dinner tonight…but after missing yoga by 60 seconds, walking around the international market looking for Tamarind Paste for over an hour just to find it was out-of-stock, then driving all the way to Whole Foods to try my luck there (they had it, thank goodness) and then forgetting chicken, I decided it was best for me to make something that I love that isn’t as time consuming or labor intensive…(and crack open a bottle of wine to soothe my nerves.)

Last summer Jan and I literally ate a Caprese Salad almost every night for dinner. It’s just a go-to warm weather salad for me…and it’s only a bonus that I can whip it together in just a few minutes with minimal ingredients!

What you’ll need (serves 2 as a meal, 4 as a side salad):

4 medium tomatoes, sliced
Fresh Mozzarella, sliced
Fresh Basil, sliced into ribbons
Olive oil, generously drizzled
Pesto
Freshly ground salt and pepper to taste
Aged Balsamic (optional)

Arrange the sliced tomatoes on the plate, topped with mozzarella. Then drizzle the olive oil over each tomato-mozzarella slice, followed by the pesto (I usually dip a fork into the pesto and then shake the fork over the plate until each tomato-mozzarella slice has enough) and then the salt and pepper. Lastly, top with the basil ribbons.

Because there are so few ingredients, it’s important to pick the best produce possible. The tomato variety doesn’t matter as much as it’s quality. I prefer medium-sized tomatoes that look red and ripe. No big, orange, watery tomato will work for this salad. Your local farmers market will often have the best tasting tomato, support your farmers!
As for the mozzarella, I don’t have a particular brand I go with, but I do love the ovoline (egg-sized) and ciliegine (cherry-sized) in water as it keeps in it’s container, it’s easy to slice, and it looks pretty on the plate.

Enjoy! Hopefully, tomorrow with be Pad Thai!!!

Go eat something!!!! And as always, thanks for reading!

Donielle

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm and is filed under Appetizers, Salad, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

