Snow Pea and Avocado Slaw

I found this recipe a few years ago in Food Network Magazine and has quickly become one of my all-time favorite salads, it also keeps for a few days in the fridge thanks to the lemon juice! Other than adding a bit more celery and finding some definite measurements, I’ve done nothing to change this recipe…

(Photo courtesy of foodnetwork.com)
 
What you’ll need: 
 
10 ounces snow peas, sliced thinly lengthwise (I stack them up 5 at a time and slice them that way)
3 ribs celery, thinly sliced (add the leaves as well)
1/2 cup toasted walnuts
Olive oil
Juice from 1 lemon
Salt and pepper to taste
1 avocado, thinly sliced
Chives, minced
1. Toss the snow peas, celery, and walnuts with the olive oil and lemon juice. Generously season with salt and pepper.
2. Gently mix in the sliced avocado and chives. Serve and enjoy!
This salad stands well on it’s own and a lot of times I’ll eat it as a meal, but it’s also fantastic with salmon or chicken!
Let me know what you think, and THANK YOU FOOD NETWORK! I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t find this one!
YUM!
Go eat something!
Donielle
This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:54 pm and is filed under Salad, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

