Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup

About four years ago, I was lucky enough to have stumbled upon Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup at Noshville, a local New York style delicatessen in Nashville. It has since become one of my favorite soups. So last year when I bought the New England Soup Factory Cookbook, I was so happy to find they had a recipe for this bowl of deliciousness! Tonight is the first time I’ve made it and I’m pleased to say it’s so similar to Noshville’s that I can’t even tell the difference between the two!

I modified the recipe a bit, and I’m really happy that I did. The recipe from the cookbook had maple syrup in it, and had I of added it, it would have been WAY too sweet for my tastes. Without the maple syrup, I still had to add more lemon juice than called for just to balance the broth. I’ll definitely be giving you my adapted version!

What you’ll need:
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups diced onions (about 1 1/2 medium onions)
2 cups peeled, sliced carrots (about 4 medium carrots)
1 cup diced celery (about 3 stalks)
1 head cabbage, diced or sliced
3/4 cup golden raisins
3 quarts beef stock
2 beef bones (ask the butcher at the grocery store if they aren’t out with the meat)
1 (14-ounce) can of stewed tomatoes
2 cups V-8 juice
2 cups packed light brown sugar
3/4 to 1 cup lemon juice
1 tablespoon caraway seeds
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Heat a heavy-bottomed stock pot or cast-iron dutch oven (must be over 8 quarts in capacity) over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil, onions, carrots, and celery. Saute for 5 minutes. Add the cabbage and saute an additional 5 minutes.
2. Add the raisins, stock, tomatoes, V-8 juice, brown sugar, lemon juice, beef bones, and caraway seeds. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
3. Remove from the heat. Add the dill. Salt and pepper to taste. Adjust the seasonings, adding more lemon juice or brown sugar if necessary. Remove the beef bones, and ladle soup into bowls, garnishing with fresh dill.

I hope you enjoy! It’s one of those things that you hesitate to try and you’re absolutely surprised that you love! So try it and GO EAT SOMETHING!

Donielle

 

This entry was published on December 27, 2012 at 2:58 pm and is filed under Soup. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

