Delicious Mushroom Risotto with Peas

2013-01-07 18.30.31Image ImageImage

I’m nannying and cooking in Connecticut for some old friends from Nashville who recently added a beautiful addition to their family, and tonight the request was for risotto. Well, I have to admit, I’ve never made risotto…in fact…I’ve never even tasted it before tonight. I’m not really a rice sort of gal. BUT…I…DIDN’T…KNOW…WHAT…I…WAS…MISSING. Holy-delicious-moley!

I followed a 5-star Giada DeLaurentis recipe (she’s my girl, I swear I will name a child after her someday!)…a few tweaks were made, but not too many…I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!

Ingredients

6 cups canned low-sodium chicken broth

1/4th cup unsalted butter

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cups finely diced onions

8 ounces baby bella mushrooms, finely chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups Arborio rice

2/3 cup dry white wine (or white cooking wine)

1 tablespoon fresh thyme, minced

1 cup frozen peas, thawed

2/3 cup finely grated parmigiano reggiano

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Bring the broth to a simmer in a heavy medium saucepan. Keep the broth warm over very low heat.

Melt the butter in a heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add olive oil. Add the onions and saute until tender, about 8 minutes. Add the bella mushrooms and garlic. Saute until the mushrooms are tender and the juices evaporate, about 5 minutes. Stir in the rice and let it toast for a few minutes. Add the wine; cook until the liquid is absorbed, stirring often, about 2 minutes. Add 1 cup of hot broth; simmer over medium-low heat until the liquid is absorbed, stirring often, about 3 minutes. Continue to cook until the rice is just tender and the mixture is creamy, adding my broth by cupfuls and stirring often. Add the fresh thyme when you add the third cup of broth to the risotto. Stir in the peas. Mix in the parmigiano reggiano. Season with salt and pepper, to taste!

Go eat something! (you know you want to!)

Yum!

Donielle

This entry was published on January 7, 2013 at 11:59 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

